When you change your mind, you change your world!

On The Move!

Cece making herself at home

Cece making herself at home

After 21 years of being a homeowner, residing in the same house that was once filled with family activity, I made a decision to sell it and downsize to a place I could rent or lease. I didn’t come to this decision hastily, though: I actually started thinking about moving three years ago, tucking that thought in the back of my mind until I felt ready to take action. Then in early February, something very interesting happened that transformed that long-held thought into something much more tangible.

A Realtor I’d never met before came knocking on my door wondering if I was interested in selling my house. Much to my surprise, I actually gave him my email address and phone number, asking that he send me some more information about home values. And wouldn’t you know, he followed up the very next day and stayed the course until I felt ready to make a decision. It didn’t take long, though, for my mind and heart to agree that NOW was the time to make the changes I’d been dreaming about these past few years.

So, when all was completed in about 6 weeks from the time I made that decision, I was thrilled to be a “free” woman: Being free of all responsibility for repairs and upkeep is such a good feeling. In retrospect, those weeks are a blur to me now that it’s all over with. I’m glad that I had so much to do that I didn’t have time to over think anything. Consequently, I went with the flow and sailed through those weeks with only a few minor hiccups along the way.

You’re probably familiar with the saying life is what happens while you’re busy making plans. Well, when I was informed of when the closing would be, I had less than two weeks to find someplace to live. I went about the task of looking for a townhouse or patio home because I couldn’t imagine myself living in any other type of dwelling. I didn’t have much success with finding anything suitable, so I opened myself up to other possibilities. That’s when fate stepped in once again.

As I clicked on Craigslist, my favorite go-to, I saw an ad for an apartment that was posted by yet another Realtor I didn’t know. Without even thinking it was a serious option, I called the number–just for the heck of it–and wouldn’t you know that the agent answered on the first ring and was just as friendly as could be. After giving him a condensed version of what I was looking for, he simply said, “I think you’re going to like this place”, urging me to call the manager and go over and see it today. So, I did just that and guess what the rest of the story is? Yup, it’s history! And so now here I sit in my new home office in my lovely apartment, listening to the birds singing in the trees that are gently swaying in the breeze on a beautiful, sunny Spring morning as I write this post.

I’ve come to the conclusion that apartment living is like being in relationship; you have to be cooperative, compassionate and willing to compromise no matter what “issues” may arise. I welcome the challenges that come with having neighbors in such close proximity who have habits that differ from mine. I get to choose whether I want to get upset or keep my heart open no matter what they’re doing. Sure I’ve gotten irritated a few times and lost myself in the moment, but I always ask myself if there’s something I can do about it. If the answer is “no”, I let it go and put my attention elsewhere. If the answer is “yes”, I wait until the moment feels right to speak up and then the outcome is a peaceful one. It works every time.

I read somewhere that “comfort zones are like silk-lined coffins”. I can’t imagine what my life would be like if I had stayed in my comfort zone and chose not to listen to my intuition the day the Realtor came to my door. But then again, none of that matters now.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined. As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.” Henry David Thoreau

Comments on: "On The Move!" (4)

  1. Your recent “journey” brings to mind once more the old, wise song, “Row, row, row your boat, gently down the stream…”!!

Leave a comment